Davido Music Worldwide boss Davido “OBO” was recently interviewed by Guardian Life Magazine. Davido is one of the biggest stars out of Africa at the moment.

Ever since Omo Baba Olowo came into the music industry scene in 2011 with his hit single “Dami Duro”, he has been on fire ever since with various hits to his name.

He has gone so far in the music industry that he has recently gained global recognition from various mega collaborations to magazine features and Sony deal, but Davido says Africa is where his heart is.

According to his interview with Guardian Life magazine, he throws more light on his ultimate goal as a musician, the rumours about him that doesn’t seem to end, why Africa will always remain his focus and more.

READ EXCERPTS BELOW: after the cut…

His thought on Nigerian music industry growth:

The industry is growing, I just feel like sometimes we don’t know how much Africa is worth. Last year I was in America because of all the deals, after just being there for a while, and I said f*** it I’m going home. I no fit sing Yankee music pass Yankee people. The same way Yankee people no fit sing Naija music pass Naija people. That was why I had to look at what I had, which was a whole continent. That is what all of those guys in America want, when you’re over there all of them want to be here. We need to just know what we are worth.

On How he got to collaborate with Tekno:

I was actually the first person to do a song with Tekno. I met him in Abuja when I was recording a song for my first album in 2012. When he blew up he called me to come to the studio. We worked on about four songs, If was one of them and Erima. He is a very talent guy and blessed.

On his inspiration for his latest single “IF”:

Lagbaja inspired it, remember “no do gra gra for me”? But to be honest my main inspiration was Duncan Mighty.

On his ultimate goal as a musician:

My goal would be to keep doing what I am doing and get to that legend status. I want bring up other artists like Mayorkun, who dropped his single Sade. I am 24 now, I cannot be doing music when I’m 30, I’ll probably drop two albums after this but I want to be done by the time I’m 29 or 30. I want to have a big media house and go into other things like filming. I know eight presidents personally so you can imagine what I can do, like youth empowerment.

Click to Read more on this interview

